web analytics

Michigan Rock and Roll Hall of Fame

Michigan Rock and Roll Legends Hall of Fame

2012 MRRL Voting Results

Band X MRRL Inductees (L-R): Jim Toczynski, Al Swanson, (photo) Dan Hansen (RIP), Jay Fortier, Bob Doleys. (photo by Lynn Johnson)

“Band X”, June 1, 2012. Thanks, everyone. We are humbled and honored by this award, and proud to represent West Michigan in the on-going music scene that is so much a part of all our lives. (L-R): Jim Toczynski, Al Swanson, (photo) Dan Hansen (RIP), Jay Fortier, Bob Doleys. (photo by Lynn Johnson)

Band X, the pride of Manistee, Michigan, finished first in the 2012 digital vote for the Michigan Rock and Roll Legends online Hall of Fame. Detroit guitarist Cliff Bramlett finished second in this year’s balloting. The rest of this year’s inductees include The Eschelons from Grand Rapids, Tonto and The Renegades from Grand Ledge, Dick Wagner from Saginaw, Iggy Pop from Ann Arbor, and Andre Williams from Detroit. The seven new members bring the total number of Michigan Rock and Roll Legends inductees to sixty-two.

10,348 votes were cast for 372 eligible Michigan artists this year. Band X received 477 votes (4.61%). They were followed by Cliff Bramlett with 380 votes (3.67%), The Eschelons with 280 votes (2.71%), Tonto and The Renegades with 176 votes (1.70%), Dick Wagner with 132 votes (1.28%), Iggy Pop with 118 votes (1.14%), and Andre Williams with 109 votes (1.05%). The cut –off for induction was 104 votes, (1%) of the total votes cast for the Hall of Fame.

The Eschelons

Finishing just short of induction this year were Anita Baker with 95 votes, both the Aardvarks, and The Beaux Jens with 94 votes, and Barbara Lewis with 92 votes.

Ten more recordings were also voted in, bringing the total number of Legendary Michigan Songs to seventy. A total of 6,794 votes were cast for 217 nominated songs by Michigan artists. The ten songs receiving the most votes gained induction.

Tonto and the Renegades’ “Anytime You Want Some Lovin’” finished first with 151 votes, following closely by its flipside, “The Easy Way Out” with 148. Both songs were written and produced by 2012 MRRL inductee Dick Wagner. “Misery” by The Dynamics received 142 votes, followed by “Rock And Roll Music” by The Frost with 134, and “I Cannot Stop You” by The Cherry Slush with 125 votes. The latter two songs were also written by Wagner. Bob Seger & The Silver Bullet Band’s “Turn The Page” was next with 121, followed by “Cat Scratch Fever” by Ted Nugent at 121, “You’ve Really Got A Hold On Me” by The Miracles with 102, Bob Seger’s “Beautiful Loser” at 100, and “Day Don’t Come” by The Cherry Slush rounded out the top ten with 92 votes.

Tonto and the Renegades


Songs finishing just short of induction included: “Heavy Music Pt. 1” by The Bob Seger System with 88 votes, “Let’s Get It On” by Marvin Gaye with 85, “Boom Boom” by John Lee Hooker with 83, and “I Just Want To Celebrate” by Rare Earth with 81 votes.





Dick Wagner


(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *